Running Local

This Train of Thought Makes All Stops

This Train is… Running Local

Posted by Bob Kohm on January 5, 2009

“Ladies and gentlemen, this is the Number Seven Train, running local and making all stops between Main Street and Times Square. Watch the closing doors.”

I’m a child of Flushing, Queens and so too a child of the 7 Train. Following its sinuous track through the neighborhoods of ethnic Queens on its way to Grand Central & Times Square, the 7 will teach you many things– the first of which is  to treat the words “running local” as they come over the PA with comic introspection. The 7 stops everywhere, seemingly at random. It will be a long and potentially interesting ride.

Those who know me know where I’m going with this– the fact is that my train of thought has a big “7” plastered on the front  because, like the train that made John Rocker infamous, it makes all stops. My wife suffers through episodes like the time I was sitting suddenly awake and wondering aloud if Hector Elizondo skydives. At any moment I may spout off about strategic realities in the Middle East or Caucasus and then an hour later I’m musing about the intricacies of building a smoke house in the backyard, the Yankees playoff prospects and the genius of Monty Python simultaneously. God (and my wife) know it can be maddening, but every now and again I come up with something interesting to say.

Please watch the closing doors and enjoy the ride. Foreign affairs, politics, food & drink, restaurants & plays, sports and music, the news and the culture and all stops in between are fair game for this blog. We’re running local.

7 Responses to “This Train is… Running Local”

  1. Chancellor said

    Looks good so far, Bob. I’ll be checking in every once in a while and commenting.

  2. Bob Kohm said

    Glad to hear it, Chance. We’ve missed you at RJ.

  3. Chancellor said

    Thanks – I should be back from my stupid bet induced hiatus come March or so.

    I’m hoping you’ll do an entry on Panetta heading CIA. I really don’t know what intel credentials he has, but he did an admirable job of bringing order from complete chaos during the early part the Clinton administration. On that alone do I think he’s a good choice for heading CIA.

  4. SeaDogStat said

    Bookmarked! Enjoyed all the articles already written and look forward to the next ones, Bob.

    Mike out

  5. Merv said

    Bob, you’re brilliant. I love the blog and have bookmarked it.

  6. Zinny said

    Well, I for one am thoroughly enjoying your “trains” of thought. Now to try to figure out which train you’re on – Thomas, the cheeky one? Edward, the haughty one? Or perhaps Percy – the kind and happy one? And one can’t forget Salty. Keep up the good work – hope to see you guys soon.

  7. Bob Kohm said

    I’m going with Ezekiel, the Arbitrary One.

Leave a Reply

 
